Forum Classics

Feeling a change in the wind...

Posted by JessN on August 11, 2004

As I sit here and read practice reports and interviews with the coaches and players, I find myself trying to shed the creeping pessimism that started almost immediately after the 2002 Auburn game.

It was the following week that the rumors concerning Franchione's flight to Texas A&M first started to have validity. By the time the team got back from Hawaii, there was serious smoke. From that point forward, everything that has happened in Tuscaloosa has been reactionary rather than progressive.

The Mike Price hire would have been okay had Price not been so devoid of character. I kept up with his teams while he was at WSU -- I'm a writer, I have to -- and I don't see anything wrong with his on-field style. It could have won in the SEC. But it wasn't going to win as long as Price was chasing skirts, chasing thrills and chasing it all down with Maker's Mark.

The Shula hire wasn't my first pick. I would have taken Croom. For that matter, I wanted Croom when we hired Price. I just had a feeling about him. Had he not hired retreads like Ellis Johnson and Woody McCorvey, I'd still say he was headed for greatness. Now he'll have to succeed in spite of his staff rather than because of it, at least on defense.

Going into the 2003 season, practice reports centered on how fast the players were picking up the offense, and whether they were going to be emotional basket cases. Turns out the answer was not what we wanted. Injuries, an offensive line ill-suited to such a landmark shift in blocking strategy, and numbers thinned by probation were a bad combination. After the Ole Miss game, the players just seemed to lose a little bit of drive. And having a head coach who was still learning on the job and having trouble winning the hearts and minds of his team was just the cherry on top of the sundae.